3d printer for high quality architecture stuff

This is for general discussions. Also FAQ can be found here.

Moderator: speedake95

twicx

3d printer for high quality architecture stuff

Post by twicx »

Hello everyone!

I'm new to 3d printing, and I've been doing a lot of research over the last few months on 3d printers. I've now gotten to the stage where I have the money saved to be able to get one, but, I'm in my final semester of architecture school, so I'm going to be printing some very detailed models, and I need to make sure that the printer I decide to get will be able to print to good enough detail for that. as you can probably tell by my being here, a Felix 1.5 is currently my most likely choice, but I've a couple of little questions before I get it that I figured people that actually own these already could answer, if you dont mind? :)

1. How detailed can the printer actually print?
I've seen some really mixed results on the quality of the prints, and how complex the geometry can actually be. A lot of the universities I've contacted that use 3d printers seem to use non-fff type printing methods, and they produce stunning models. However, I've also come across a few images of models, apparently done by fff, which are incredibly detailed, such as (http://www.tb-cms.org/data/artwork/554/ ... detail.jpg) and (http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-9CTJPgiStIk/U ... 287%29.jpg). So, would models like these be possible to make?

2. Finishing/post-printed work?
Leading on from the last question, I had a look at the pictures in the High-Quality thread, and some of the models there look excellent, although the lines from the printer are still visible, albeit not very noticible for the kind of applications I'm looking for. However, I've also seen a few websites that have tips and tricks for finishing models, such as sanding down models, acetone baths etc etc. How effective are these techniques? Are there material restrictions?