Felix 2 LCD Backlight?

Discussions about the electronics
Post Reply
Danny-Lelystad
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:20 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Felix 2 LCD Backlight?

Post by Danny-Lelystad »

I connect it like in the picture above, but the only thing which seems to be working is the backlight from the display. Adjusting the contrast doesnt change a thing :(

angryangel
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:01 am
Location: Germany near Heilbronn / Heidelberg
Contact:

Post by angryangel »

have you turnd the potti next to te conector?

turn it nearly complet to the right

Danny-Lelystad
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:20 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by Danny-Lelystad »

Lol, i turn it left and right, but nothing happend, apperently not far enough to the right, it works now, but it looks like only 2 rows are used. I wil browse the menu structure now to see if there is a menu with more than 2 rows. Thanks angryangel!

angryangel
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:01 am
Location: Germany near Heilbronn / Heidelberg
Contact:

Post by angryangel »

Look at the Firmware that you can Download here ther you find a pdf called Display there you can see the Most options of the struckture

But i also just have only two Lines and i'm Not abelt to Start the Printer direkt from the Display i Allahs have to Start the Printer with the pc After that i can use the Display Control

Danny-Lelystad
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:20 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by Danny-Lelystad »

I really get only 2 menu lines on the display, rowpositions seems to be correct, long menu items are completly displayed, so seems to be the display settings are set to 2 by 20 characters instead 4 x 20.
And i got the same problem, it doesnt move or start at all by controlling the button.

angryangel
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:01 am
Location: Germany near Heilbronn / Heidelberg
Contact:

Post by angryangel »

Try to connect repetier Host when you have deine this und the Top cooler Starts to Run zhan you can Control the Printer with the Display

Danny-Lelystad
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:20 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by Danny-Lelystad »

Ok, i did select a file from sd-card and it works, but cant remember if i used repetier to startup the printer. Some more testing required :)

seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by seaton »

looks like the LCD has a backlight, so it appears that mine is not working, I'll contact Guillaume and see what the next step is regarding a replacement

Regards,

Stephen...
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

angryangel
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:01 am
Location: Germany near Heilbronn / Heidelberg
Contact:

Post by angryangel »

@danny you can start the print from sd without conecting repetier but you cant kontrol the axis

but if you had conected with repetier you can control the axis through the display modul

Kjetilei
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 8:26 pm
Location: Stavanger, Norway

Post by Kjetilei »

Those of you who only get two lines of text: This is most likely caused by an misconfiguration in the firmware from Guillaume' side, where the LCD is setup for 2x16 (or 2x20) instead of 4x20. He first experimented with a 2-line LCD display for the printer but changed to a 4-line version and most likely forgot to update the firmware he published.

This is the configuration I use (in configuration.h):

Code: Select all

//LCD and SD support
//#define ULTRA_LCD  //general lcd support, also 16x2
#define SDSUPPORT // Enable SD Card Support in Hardware Console

//#define ULTIMAKERCONTROLLER //as available from the ultimaker online store.
#define ULTIPANEL  //the ultipanel as on thingiverse


#ifdef ULTIMAKERCONTROLLER    //automatic expansion
 #define ULTIPANEL
 #define NEWPANEL
#endif 
 

#ifdef ULTIPANEL
  #define NEWPANEL  //enable this if you have a click-encoder panel
  #define SDSUPPORT
  #define ULTRA_LCD
  #define LCD_WIDTH 20
  #define LCD_HEIGHT 4

Post Reply