Calibration of Extruder procedure ?

Discussions about firmware/slicing software, tweaks and settings
Post Reply
seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Calibration of Extruder procedure ?

Post by seaton »

G'day one and all,

what is the procedure for calibrating the extruder with the v2.0 controller? I've measured the mm it extrudes/retracts and while testing a value 50mm I'm getting 57mm which is probably explaining some surface quality problems I'm experiencing. I've yet to check the calibration of x, y and Z but I'm guessing the procedure will be similar.

Is there a way I can adjust via the LCD?

Regards,

Stephen
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by seaton »

worked it out...
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

Hugues
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:36 pm

Post by Hugues »

seaton wrote:worked it out...
hi,

how did you calibrate the extrusion length ?

i never checked it since i received my printer, interested to know if ok
Hugues
Regards from Switzerland

seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by seaton »

Procedure I used was as follows:

1) Remove filament from hotend (hot end turned on)
2) removed hotend from housing so I can extrude and extract without actually extruding filament. (hot end still on)
3) inserted filament into feeder and fed some through
4) Marked my filament with a marking pen approx 100 mm from the top of my feed entry.
5) measured the actual distance from the top of the feed entry to the mark I made and noted this value down as Measurement1
6) Set my extrude to 5mm and then performed 10 extrudes for a sum of 50mm. I waited for each to finished before I extruded the next 5mm
7) measured again from the top of the feed entry to my mark and noted this down as Measurement2
8) calculated the difference which gives me the total distance extruded, in my case is was 57mm
9) I then retracted 5mm 10 times for a total of 50mm and remeasured, should be somewhere close the initial reading.
10) I then performed the following calculation 50/(measure1 - measure2) in my case 50/57 = 0.877
11) In the eeprom values locate the ESteps/mm. Note this value just incase you need to go back to the intial value for whatever reason, I then multiplied the EStep/mm eeprom value by my correction factor calculated in step 10.
12) then recheck from steps 5) until you're happy with the actual feed length, in my case it was correct after I did step 11) so all good.
13) remove filament
14) reinstall hotend.

I'm going to do the same for my x, y and z values just to be sure, but by measuring the travel rather then extruding.

Stephen.
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

angryangel
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:01 am
Location: Germany near Heilbronn / Heidelberg
Contact:

Post by angryangel »

why let you the hotend on wen you do not relay extrude ?

seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by seaton »

angryangel wrote:why let you the hotend on wen you do not relay extrude ?

I found it easier to remove the hotend so that I can run filament back and forth without actually extruding, also the hotend heater needs to be heating and at temperature to enable manual extrusion control, if it's on and still in the housing then it will extrude and I don't want that :)

Stephen..
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

angryangel
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:01 am
Location: Germany near Heilbronn / Heidelberg
Contact:

Post by angryangel »

ah i just did not know that it will not extrude when sthe hotend isn´t on

the remove of the hotend war logical for me only the heating of the hotend dindnt know why but you schold be abel to het the hotend just to 30° this should also work when you set the taget temp as low as posible

killejano
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:23 pm

Post by killejano »

The hot end needs to be at least 170 degrees before repertier can turn the extruder motor.

temo
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:06 pm

Post by temo »

There is no need to run/warm-up the hotend to calibrate.

Send code M302 from Repetier or Pronterface and you can run your extruder when its cold: https://github.com/ErikZalm/Marlin
look at bit down on the side.

Terje

Post Reply