Upgrade 1.0 -> 2.0 Power Supply

Discussions about the electronics
Post Reply
markus_kyroe
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 11:07 am

Upgrade 1.0 -> 2.0 Power Supply

Post by markus_kyroe »

Hi guys,

Got some problems during the electronics part in the upgrade from 1.0 to 2.0!

I'm almost done :-) But when the exiting point of pluggin in the power cables and connect to the PC it's not fun anymore :-)

The fan doesn't start and I have no power to the opto sensors etc. The axis' doesn't respond. Totally dead. I can connect to it, but that's it.

The wireing on the power supply looks much more different on 1.0 than on the pictures from the manual on 2.0. I think the problem is somewhere with the ground and power cable. In 13.3 it says:
"Connect green and purple wire.
Green wire functions as an on-off switch for the printer.
The purple wire is the standby power for the logic of the electronics."
In the old setup, a green wire was soldered to a black wire to finish the loop. I divided this bond to release the green wire and found the purple which was "free" and never used in the old setup. This is probably hoplessly wrong! :ugeek: What to do?

Please help,
Thanks in advance,

Markus

dognotdog
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 9:22 pm

Post by dognotdog »

The purple is the standby 5V line, which can supply current to the electronics. I assume the 2.0 electronics take power from that, unlike the RAMPS/Arduino setup, which could be powered from either USB or the purple line. The purple line always has 5V on it, even if the PS isn't actually turned on.

The green wire turns the rest of the power supply on, eg. the other 5V and 12V lines (red & yellow). This green wire either needs to be shorted to ground, to permanently turn on the power supply, or, if you want the capability to turn the printer on/off from the PC, connected to the appropriate place on the electronics board.

markus_kyroe
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 11:07 am

Post by markus_kyroe »

Thanks for the reply :-)

I'm still not quite sure what to do to make it work?

I have attached a picture. This shows where I have connected the green and purple wire.

It also shows the hopelessly big amount of non-used wires. Anyone that have a clue?

Thanks,
Markus
Attachments
Electronics
Electronics

User avatar
gfeliksdal
Site Admin
Posts: 405
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 10:40 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by gfeliksdal »

Hi Markus,

That seems like you have connected it right. When you plug in the powercable does something happen? Any lights?

The rest of the cables hanging around can be blinded off, as they are not used by the printer.

Kjetilei
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 8:26 pm
Location: Stavanger, Norway

Post by Kjetilei »

Hi Markus,

The wiring looks correct compared to the instruction manual. Have you tried to turn on the printer power through Repetier? I think the change made to the wiring prevents the printer (by design) to turn on automatically when power is inserted into the PSU (as it did with the old RAMPS board). Give it a go and report back :)

Kjetilei
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 8:26 pm
Location: Stavanger, Norway

Post by Kjetilei »

LOL. Guillaume beat me to it :) He should know how it's supposed to work ;)

User avatar
gfeliksdal
Site Admin
Posts: 405
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 10:40 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by gfeliksdal »

Haha, that's a first. Indeed the high power part of the electronics board can only be powered on via the repetier-host interface. There is a relay build in (green wire). The cpu is powered by the standby voltage of the powersupply (purple wire).

markus_kyroe
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 11:07 am

Post by markus_kyroe »

When I plug in the power cable to the printer I get a series of lights on the board. Then just some blinks from a light near the USB as indicated on the picture.

Nothing happens when I try to turn it on via Reptier-Host. It actually says "Power-ON" when I start the program. No lights on the opto-sensors, no control via the software...

:roll:
Attachments
Light blinks - next to the USB
Light blinks - next to the USB

seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by seaton »

That sounds all fine, what about baud rate in your host is it correct? or is driver installed? is a comport being detected on your host for the new board as it will probably be different to the old board?

Stephen...
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

markus_kyroe
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 11:07 am

Post by markus_kyroe »

The baud-rate is set to 250000.

I get this LOG:
13:05:51.696 : OpenGL version:3.3.10750 Compatibility Profile Context
13:05:51.697 : OpenGL extensions:GL_...
13:05:51.697 : OpenGL renderer:ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 Series
13:05:51.697 : Using fast VBOs for rendering is possible
13:06:26.950 : start
13:06:26.951 : echo: External Reset
13:06:26.951 : Marlin 1.0.0
13:06:26.951 : echo: Last Updated: May 13 2013 13:04:07 | Author: (none, default config)
13:06:26.951 : Compiled: May 13 2013
13:06:26.951 : echo: Free Memory: 4465 PlannerBufferBytes: 1232
13:06:26.951 : echo:Hardcoded Default Settings Loaded
13:06:26.951 : echo:Steps per unit:
13:06:26.951 : echo: M92 X76.20 Y76.20 Z1600.00 E169.00
13:06:26.951 : echo:Maximum feedrates (mm/s):
13:06:26.951 : echo: M203 X500.00 Y500.00 Z5.00 E25.00
13:06:26.951 : echo:Maximum Acceleration (mm/s2):
13:06:26.951 : echo: M201 X5000 Y5000 Z100 E80000
13:06:26.951 : echo:Acceleration: S=acceleration, T=retract acceleration
13:06:26.951 : echo: M204 S1500.00 T5000.00
13:06:26.951 : echo:Advanced variables: S=Min feedrate (mm/s), T=Min travel feedrate (mm/s), B=minimum segment time (ms), X=maximum XY jerk (mm/s), Z=maximum Z jerk (mm/s), E=maximum E jerk (mm/s)
13:06:26.951 : echo: M205 S0.00 T0.00 B20000 X10.00 Z0.40 E5.00
13:06:26.951 : echo:Home offset (mm):
13:06:26.951 : echo: M206 X0.00 Y0.00 Z0.00
13:06:26.951 : echo:PID settings:
13:06:26.951 : echo: M301 P22.20 I1.08 D114.00
13:06:29.244 : echo:SD init fail
13:06:29.294 : FIRMWARE_NAME:Marlin V1; Sprinter/grbl mashup for FELIXprinters FIRMWARE_URL:http://www.felixprinters.com/downloads PROTOCOL_VERSION:1.0 MACHINE_TYPE:FELIX 2.0 EXTRUDER_COUNT:1
13:06:30.257 : FIRMWARE_NAME:Marlin V1; Sprinter/grbl mashup for FELIXprinters FIRMWARE_URL:http://www.felixprinters.com/downloads PROTOCOL_VERSION:1.0 MACHINE_TYPE:FELIX 2.0 EXTRUDER_COUNT:1
The driver was automaticly installed by windows (7) as the the board was connected to the PC. The COM-port is detected as in the instruction manual - and set (in my case) to COM7...

KR
Markus

Post Reply