newbie questions

This is for general discussions. Also FAQ can be found here.

Moderator: speedake95

contemptx

newbie questions

Post by contemptx »

Hi all,
I wanted to jump onto the forums to ask a few questions tot hose that already have a felix printer.

In short im looking to buy a 3d printer, however im a complete newbie when it comes to anything 3D so I know that it will be a learning curve but I dont want too much of a lurning curve if that makes sense....

I am certainly interested in building the printer as that way you understand better on how everything works, but I was wondering what sort of calibration is involved.... now I know this is one of those area's thats never ending as you are always improving settings to tweak this & that.

But I would also like to be to print something tangable instead of a blob at the end of it ;)

I have been doing a ton of research on different printers and looking to stay away from the reprap models as it seems that only those highly skilled managed to get decent prints out of them.

So my question is how much experience did you have before getting a felix printer (did you own a 3d printer before or was this your first one and how much experience do you have in 3D design) and what would you say was your hardest learning curve and how long did it take you to get to a stage where your print quality was acceptable...

Thanks for your time

dognotdog

Post by dognotdog »

I am inclined to think you can get prints faster out of the felix than other printer kits. Personally, I've had enough experience with conventional CNC machining, so the 3D aspect of it wasn't new. I didn't have any problems assembling the felix, what takes up most time is fitting the cables, and deciding how to run them.

danielkschneider

Post by danielkschneider »