Homing on all axis intermittent with latest firmware

Discussions about firmware/slicing software, tweaks and settings
Post Reply
seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Homing on all axis intermittent with latest firmware

Post by seaton »

G'day one and all,

I've just upgraded my firmware with the current supported one on this site (now Repieter I see) and my homing is now intermittent on all axis, i.e. I hit home Z axis and it will go through the homing but will stop at a different height. same goes for the other axis.

Going back to the v2 firmware (Marlin) my homing works as it should.

My Felix is a version 2 so has the circuit boards for the home sensors. I notice in the manual V3 has just the optical sensors only no pcbs.

Regards,

Stephen..
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by seaton »

thinking about this further, and looking over the forums with other end stop issues with these opto end-stops, I'm suspecting that there is a voltage issue thats become more apparent with this version of the firmware so will check later tonight when I get home
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

andrewsi
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 1:26 am

Post by andrewsi »

I switched over to Repetier firmware for a while with 3.0 (2.1) electronics where the opto electronics were moved to the motherboard, and had no issues with homing, so I think you're probably on the right track with looking at the electronics itself.
__________________________________________
Andy Silverman, Technogeek in Seattle
Felix Tec4 Single-head

User avatar
DDME-Marc
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 11:04 pm
Location: New Zealand

Post by DDME-Marc »

Hi Seaton,

Having struck similar problems with false homing triggers, I found that by simply rerouting sensor cables separated from all other wires back to the motherboard corrected all homing errors. I completed the rerouting 4 weeks ago and have not had single error since.

Cheers,

Marc
Felix 3.0 Dual Head * E3D Titan V6 * Repetier-Host V2.1.3 * Repetier-Firmware 0.92.9 (01/08/17 - Modified) * KISSlicer Pro - 1.6.3 * Arduino 1.8.5 *

seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by seaton »

Thanks Marc,

I was only thinking of that last night so I think I'll try that first.

Stephen...
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by seaton »

I had some free time today and re-routed the opto cables so they weren't intertwined with the motor and heated bed cables and appears to be working fine. I haven't yet re-cable tied everything back in yet.

If the problem still persists then I may look at some bypass caps on the opto boards across the power and ground to filter out the noise.

So far so good
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by seaton »

Just as a followup on this....

I was still getting Random Homing issues on the x-Axis even after re-running cables, the other axis seem ok. I ended up spending some time today to track down the problem.

Looks like it was my X-Axis Sensor board as it had a higher voltage on the output than the others @ ~1.75v and with 200mv of noise would be enough to tip it over the line. All the other Sensors are reading around 1.3V and appear to be well under the threshold. However, I am a bit confused asto why there is this offset voltage on the endstop outputs, I would have though it would be close to 0v under normal operations and 3v when triggered.

Luckily I had a spare so changed it out and this immediately bough it back down to a similar voltage.

These are the opto end stop boards v2.2 that are the ones that came with Felix V2 as I see V3 has a much simpler sensor.
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

Post Reply