Waves

Post Reply
Mayhem
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:15 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Waves

Post by Mayhem »

I have felix 2.0 single extruder and i dont have lcd.
When get from work ill try those settings but since i didint have those waves before atleast not that much so somerhing is wrong in the mechanics, part was sliced whit unmodified normal quality felix profile in scaft.

Ill make a new part that shows the waves much better.
Felix 2.0----> 3.0
V4 hot end
Simplyfy 3D
Kisslicer
Autodesk fusion 360

Mayhem
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:15 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Mayhem »

Here is the part and it shows the waves quote good, on top is normal quality scaft profile and on the bottom is kisslicer whit slowest setti g and still some waves.

Since i dont have lcd can i change th speed setting inthe repetier host or do i need to open the file in arduino.
Attachments
scaft
scaft
Kisslicer
Kisslicer
Felix 2.0----> 3.0
V4 hot end
Simplyfy 3D
Kisslicer
Autodesk fusion 360

Mayhem
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:15 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Mayhem »

Does anyone know place where i can buy belt, its really expensive from felix, belt costs 15 euros and 25 for shipping NOT good :evil:

Minium order is 30 euros????? :evil:
Felix 2.0----> 3.0
V4 hot end
Simplyfy 3D
Kisslicer
Autodesk fusion 360

seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by seaton »

Mayhem wrote:Does anyone know place where i can buy belt, its really expensive from felix, belt costs 15 euros and 25 for shipping NOT good :evil:

Minium order is 30 euros????? :evil:
This is the problem I had and ended up converting to GT2, I got from aliexpress, I think I got 10m for something like $18 and that included shipping.

Stephen...
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

Mayhem
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:15 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Mayhem »

How many teeth your pulleys have?
How did you fastened the belt in the extruder base since the gt2 have different pitch and what i need to change in in the firmware if i go to gt2?
Felix 2.0----> 3.0
V4 hot end
Simplyfy 3D
Kisslicer
Autodesk fusion 360

Makron
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:29 pm

Post by Makron »

Changing in firmware is very easy.

http://calculator.josefprusa.cz/

Mayhem
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:15 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Mayhem »

Thanks makron, just a shipping cost from felix shop i got 3x GT2 pulleys and 5M belt from ebay :)
They should be here by the end of nex week, ill post here th results once i get those.
Felix 2.0----> 3.0
V4 hot end
Simplyfy 3D
Kisslicer
Autodesk fusion 360

seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by seaton »

Mayhem wrote:How many teeth your pulleys have?
How did you fastened the belt in the extruder base since the gt2 have different pitch and what i need to change in in the firmware if i go to gt2?
I ordered new pulleys at the same time and have 16 teeth.

Yes had to update the firmware but only the steps/mm for x and Y axis which is a nice round number at 100. I used this online calculator http://calculator.josefprusa.cz

For the belts I made a GT2 tensioner to replace the original and in the existing Felix base I put a wedge in and so far has not moved. http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:128632. I wouldn't recommend you go this way unless you have no other option, for me I had a broken belt and wasn't prepared to pay for the high cost of the felix one and shipping to Australia, now I have enough belt to last a lifetime haha, This approach is obviously not supported by felix printers and would make sure you check everything else first.

when calibrating I update my gcode and when happy I update the firmware

e.g. this goes in my repieter host start code and gets executed before every print, that way I don't even have to relics, I just run the calibration piece, measure and update the gcode, recheck etc.

M92 X100 ; calibrate X
M92 Y100 ; calibrate Y
M92 Z1600 ; calibrate Z
M92 E150.3 ; calibrate E

I wouldn't recommend you go this way as it's obviously not supported by felix printers and would make sure you check everything else first. But the benefit of the GT2 is a slightly higher resolution on X and Y axis, 10.00 micron vs 13.125micron, well in theory at least :)

I still get ringing on my prints ever so slightly, but definitely not as bad as yours and do find it a factor of speed, i.e. its worse at higher print speeds.
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

Mayhem
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:15 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Mayhem »

I have no ideas anymore, i took the bed assembly apart and check everythin, check all bolts and nuts , everything seemed to be ok so ill try the GT2 system and if that wont fix the proplem maybe sell the printer and buy different printer :cry:
Felix 2.0----> 3.0
V4 hot end
Simplyfy 3D
Kisslicer
Autodesk fusion 360

seaton
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:04 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by seaton »

Mayhem wrote:I have no ideas anymore, i took the bed assembly apart and check everythin, check all bolts and nuts, everything seemed to be ok so ill try the GT2 system and if that wont fix the proplem maybe sell the printer and buy different printer :cry:
I feel the Felix is probably one of the best printers on the market and will think you'll be sorry if you got rid of it :(

I don't think it would be your bed assy, probably more X-Axis and head assembly.

If you look at the print is it more on the X or Y axis?

so if you slow things down you still get waves?

How is the hot end in the Carriage, If you hold the X-Axis stationary can you wiggle or move the hot end with your hand, obviously with it cooled down :)

I just did a search on google and found this that may help, although related to the ultimaker.

http://umforum.ultimaker.com/index.php? ... p-corners/
Stephen...

Felix 2.0 -> Felix 3.0 dual
Simplify3D Slicer, Kisslicer
Have you added your Felix to the Map? http://goo.gl/maps/HajnZ

http://blog.strobotics.com.au

Post Reply