My first 3D printer

This is for general discussions. Also FAQ can be found here.

Moderator: speedake95

Trnquill

My first 3D printer

Post by Trnquill »

Hello, newbie here! :) I have been tinkering with all sorts of things quite some time, mainly milling carbon fiber parts with my small CNC router. However, my latest creation needed some more complex parts so I decided to jump into 3D printing world! After browsing different makes and models for quite some time I ended up ordering Felix 1.0 early this month. Due to slight delay I received the printer kit yesterday. I thought someone might find it interesting if I wrote down my observations, so here goes. :) This is not a build review, just some random notes, so don't make too serious assumptions based on my some what random blabber...

UPS guy dropped the kit to my work and after arriving at home I carefully ripped it open. I was amazed how well the thing was packaged in the cardboard box. The foam pillow filling really kept the components in place. After unpacking all the parts from the box I was unable to put just the filling back in and close the box... :) I was also happy to find the "bag of extras" containing all sorts of goodies: full roll of kapton tape, huge tube of heat resistan glue (?), thermal paste, bag of zip ties, cable management spiral, tweezers, ... Nice!

What concerned me a bit was the big bag of electronics. A huge bag containing (almost) all the electronics, including sensitive things like the RAMPS board and optical endstop PCBs but also the bulky and heavy power supply with sharp edges... RAMPS was wrapped in bubble wrap but the endstops were floating around the bag. One of the optical gates had took a hit and was sitting crooked on the PCB. Few of the components on the RAMPS board were also a bit off. No biggie, I guess nothing had broken.