Problem with first layer

michalp

Problem with first layer

Post by michalp »

Hi, Im totally new to 3d print... bought assembled Felix 3.0 and to be honest... I feel my IQ is too low for it :)

Im trying to print with white PLA 190C bed 60C and looks like I can't go beyond 1st layer without messing the whole print. I would say it doesn't stick but have a feeling that I've messed up some settings.

I slice with SFACT - 2_1 Normal quality - didn't go to configure ... I imagine its preconfigured?
Than I set the temp 190C and bed 60C for one Extruder as I yet have no use for the second Extruder.

The question is what should I set as Speed mm/min and Extrude mmm & Retract mm ?
Do i need to set it up to Retract while changing the print head or it got it by default in the slicer options?

Should I heat up the head a bit more for PLA? any tips for the first layer?

Also how far should the nozzle be from the bed? in home position?

Formatize

Post by Formatize »

I'm also new with the Felix but I've been 3D printing with another machine for more than a year. It seems that there is quite a bit to learn with the Felix but it will be worth it.

I'm pretty sure your nozzle isn't close enough to the bed so the filament isn't sticking. I had the same problem so with my first print and I just adjusted my Z height and I was good to go. Also level your bed as best as you can otherwise the nozzle will be too high or close in other areas.

I print at the suggested 195C with polymakr PLA and a bed temp of 55C.
Felix 3.0 Dual, Simplify 3D, Solidworks

michalp

Post by michalp »

looks like its solved...
ive set 205C and 65C for the bed. Switched off the fan for the first layer and hairsprayed the bed. Uff Uff Im happy! don't understand many options yet but will learn.

Is slicer better?

michalp

Post by michalp »

btw the head was OK I think... less than a BusCard from the bed.. 1-2 sheets of paper thickness

Formatize

Post by Formatize »